Crystal Cove State Park has a rich art history spanning over 100 years. The tradition continues today, as artists trek down every year to paint our scenic cottages, iconic ocean-side bluffs, and relaxing sandy beaches, setting up their easels to paint en plein air— on site, in the open air.

Our Great Plein Air Art Experience art classes invite you to take part in this living history by spending a relaxing day capturing the beauty of the Cove on canvas with the help of a Crystal Cove plein air artist! These four hour classes will take you through the process of creating your first plein air painting from beginning to end.

All supplies will be provided! Class size is limited to 12. Minimum age is 18. $100 per workshop; $85 for Crystal Cove Conservancy members. $15 Day Use fee per vehicle; free with State Parks annual pass. All classes are from 9AM to 2PM. 

You will receive an email with further event information at least five days prior to the date of your signup.


 Upcoming Classes

  • Tuesday, July 5, with Debbie Morines (SOLD OUT!)
  • Thursday, July 7, with Alan Nowell (SOLD OUT!)
  • Tuesday, July 12, with Debbie Morines (SOLD OUT!)
  • Thursday, July 14,  with Alan Nowell (SOLD OUT!)
  • Tuesday, July 19, with Debbie Morines (SOLD OUT!)
  • Thursday, July 21, with Alan Nowell (SOLD OUT!)
  • Tuesday, July 26, with Debbie Morines (SOLD OUT!)
  • Thursday, July 28, with Alan Nowell (SOLD OUT!)
  • Tuesday, August 2, with Debbie Morines (SOLD OUT!)
  • Thursday, August 4, with Alan Nowell (SOLD OUT!)
  • Tuesday, August 9, with Debbie Morines (SOLD OUT!)
  • Thursday, August 11, with Alan Nowell (SOLD OUT!)
  • Tuesday, August 16, with Debbie Morines (SOLD OUT!)
  • Thursday, August 18, with Alan Nowell (SOLD OUT!)
  • Tuesday, August 23, with Alan Nowell (SOLD OUT!)
  • Thursday, August 25, with Alan Nowell (SOLD OUT!)
  • Tuesday, August 30, with Alan Nowell (SOLD OUT!)

 


Family Plein Air Art Exploration

Wand to join us for a relaxing day of plein air with the young artists in your life? Our Family Plein Air Art Exploration art classes invite you and artists 8 and up! During the two-hour program, family teams will explore the basics of plein air painting, and then each family member will create a masterpiece that captures the summer spirit of the Cove.

All supplies will be provided! Class size is limited to 12. Minimum age is 8 accompanied by an adult. Minimum 2 family participants per registration. $90 per participants ages 16+; $65 per participants 16 and under per workshop. $15 Day Use fee per vehicle; free with State Parks annual pass. All classes are from 9AM to 11AM. 

 Upcoming Classes

  • Wednesday, July 6, with Debbie Morines (SOLD OUT!)
  • Wednesday, July 20, with Debbie Morines (SOLD OUT!)

 


If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Chelsea, Education Coordinator, by emailing chelsea@crystalcove.org!

Get Crystal Cove in your inbox!
×